Under the 144-hour visa-free transit policy, foreign travelers can enjoy a six-day stay in Chengdu without a visa, provided they come from 53 eligible countries, enter and exit China from eligible ports, stay within the allowed cities and regions, as well as satisfy other requirements.

Chengdu has implemented a 144-hour visa-free transit policy for foreign expats in recent years. Thus, foreign expats from 53 countries can enter via Chengdu’s aviation port and stay in administrative areas of eleven cities including Chengdu, Leshan, Deyang, Suining, Meishan, Ya’an, Ziyang, Neijiang, Zigong, Luzhou, Yibing for 144 hours without a visa, on the condition that they hold a valid international travel document and a connecting flight ticket bound for a third country (region) with a confirmed date and seat within 144 hours.

List of countries for which the 144-hour visa-free transit policy is applicable

Europe (39)
Austria, Belgium, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Monaco, and Belarus.

America (6)
United States of America, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, and Chile.

Oceania (2)
Australia, New Zealand.

Asia (6)
ROK(Republic of Korea), Japan, Singapore, Brunei, UAE(United Arab Emirates), and Qatar.

CdExpat Team
Author: CdExpat Team


CDIS China Chengdu